Posted on

12 responses to “Folklore Fridays: Treasure

  1. John S.

    Excellent as always, Dr. H!

    “This … also demonstrates one of the great dangers of archaeology, not to life and limb, although that does sometimes take place – no: I’m talking about folklore…”

  2. Excellent. Love the drawings and subtle use of colour.

  3. Katy

    Triple-like, this is awesome. Congratulations.

  4. Katy

    PS How about the Rillaton Cup, my favourite archaeological folklore story.

    • Dr H

      Thank you Katy. I’ve been thinking about doing the Rillaton Cup, but I have to practice drawing horses first! I will get round to it, though. Thanks for the suggestion.

  5. Dr H

    Any suggestions for archaeology-related folklore with some narrative detail would be great. Thanks!

  6. Fresca

    So cool!
    I like the touches of color too—reminds me of Edward Gorey’s stage set for Dracula, all black and white except for one red item–a brooch or a rose or some such thing…

    • Dr H

      Thanks Fresca. I just saw the Gorey sets at the Gothic exhibition at the British Library a few weeks ago. I was very tempted to buy a reproduction copy in the book shop.
      I grew up with a lot of story/ picture books that just used black and one colour. I’m still trying to get the hang of using colour, but it’s fun to play about with.

Leave a Reply

