Posted on

The Vikings are Coming!

02 The Bell in the Deep-Viking Boat

I’ve been taking a short break from Archaeological Oddities in order to finish a comic that I started a couple of months ago. Inspired by all the fuss over the opening of the British Museum’s Vikings exhibition, I decided to adapt my own retelling of the legend of the Bosham Bells and turn it into a comic.

After making one page Oddities for so long, this seven page comic has taken some time to finish.

01 The Bell in the Deep-004

I have to thank my friend – artist Lucinda Naylor; her artistic advice and encouragement gave me the push I needed to finish the comic.

Also many thanks to Dr A.

If you don’t know the story of the Bosham Bells you can read about it here, or you can wait until Friday when I’ll be posting the full comic.

Dr H

About Hannah

@hannahksackett prehistories.wordpress.com

2 responses to “The Vikings are Coming!

  1. Lucinda ⋅

    Ooo…ooo…oooo! Can hardly wait to see it!

    • Dr H

      Thanks Lucinda. All that time we spent making comics together, as well as your hints and tips, have improved my use of line and my drawing stamina! I’m now planning on making a short series of comics about archaeology and folklore.

Leave a Reply

