Posted on

Archaeological Oddities: The Penbryn Spoons

 

AO Divination

 

You can read more about the spoons, and similar finds here and here and here.

Click here for more Archaeological Oddities.

A5 copies of Archaeological Oddities Volume One now available on my etsy shop – only £2 + postage!

Dr H

About Hannah

@hannahksackett

3 responses to “Archaeological Oddities: The Penbryn Spoons

  1. Fresca

    Reminds me of Magic 8 balls. You know those fortune-telling toys that look like a pool ball?
    I loved those as a kid.
    I just looked them up–the mysterious liquid the die (one dice) floats in is merely alcohol dyed dark blue.
    Anyway, the desire for a magic answer is undying, eh?

  2. Dr H

    Hi Fresca.
    I always wanted a Magic 8 ball when I was young, but never had one. I made up for this by buying one for my son…
    Some of the earliest writing is linked to magic – Chinese writing on tortoise shells http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/sci/tech/2956925.stm
    and Egyptian spells http://www.theguardian.com/science/2010/nov/03/hieroglyphs-magic-mummies-snake-afterlife
    Dr A and I have vague plans to look at the magic/ witchcraft items in the Pitt Rivers Museum sometime. I have ideas for another comic strip I could run alongside the Oddities…

  3. Fresca ⋅

    A good reason to have a child: to buy toys you never had!
    Though I’ve done pretty well buying plastic gee-gaws for my childless self.
    My parents pretty much only let us have educational-type toys made of natural materials. AWFUL!!! (Not the toys themselves, but the toy censorship.)

Leave a Reply

