Posted on

Round-up of the Year by Dr H

P1050917One of the highlights of 2013 for me has been Prehistories itself. We’re nearing our 1st birthday, and I’ve really had a lot of fun posting on the blog, reading comments and following up links to other peoples blogs.

Thank you to everyone who agreed to be willing victims in Ask an Archaeologist/ Ask an Artist/ Ask an Author. Everyone who’s taken part has given thoughtful, thought-provoking and entertaining answers. I really appreciate the time you’ve all taken over this feature.

Congratulations to artist Garen Ewing who won the Young People’s Comic Award for the Rainbow Orchid and to Sally Prue, whose book Song Hunter is on the long list for this year’s Carnegie Award.

I have really enjoyed exploring other people’s blogs too. News, opinion, creative engagement with archaeology. Check out the new links page (with more links to come).

A personal highlight for me has been seeing John Swogger’s artwork for One Girl goes Hunting take shape. Check out his latest image of Kat-ya. Awesome!

katya_2

More on this project in 2014…

Also I’ve surprised myself this year by discovering how much I love drawing. Thanks to everyone who has encouraged me in this direction, especially with the Archaeological Oddities comics. You can now buy Volume 1 on my Etsy store, along with my Make your Own Archaeological Oddities pack as recommended by Alfie (thanks to Lucinda Naylor for the photo).

photo (3)I have a few more comics projects brewing away too. You can head over to my tumblr site to see the more personal work I’m developing at the moment. All a huge learning curve, but a lot of fun.

Finally, I’ve been doing some work on archaeology and comics in school with Steph Moser and Alistair Jones. I’ve also written up a case study of a local school using books on archaeology in their caves topic, which should be published in English 4-11 online sometime early next year.

P1070432

Now I feel exhausted! Time for a rest in order to gather myself for whatever 2014 has to offer.

Dr H

About Hannah

@hannahksackett

2 responses to “Round-up of the Year by Dr H

  1. Lucinda ⋅

    Yeah! All good! You have embarked on some wonderful new paths this year. And Alfie looks great with your oddities, if I may say so myself.

  2. Dr H

    Alfie always looks great! Thanks Lucinda for all your support and encouragement.

Leave a Reply

